Reinstating a Suspended Driver License

If you have a suspended driving license, it is important to be mindful of various related topics, including:

  • Reasons for a drivers license suspension
  • Steps to reinstate your driving license
  • Proof of financial responsibility and SR22 insurance

Common License Suspension Offenses

Although there are numerous violations for which you may have your drivers license suspended, a few of the most common types of scenarios include the following:

  • You have failed to pay child support.
  • You have failed to maintain your car insurance.
  • You are a habitual traffic offender.
  • You are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
  • You have accumulated too many points on your driving record.

Process of License to Drive Reinstatement

Depending on your particular situation, the steps for suspended drivers license reinstatement are not the same for every individual. However, you may be subject to do one or more of these before you get a reinstated driving license:

  • Complete your suspension period.
  • Complete an imprisonment sentence.
  • Fulfill any community service hour obligations.
  • Pay any pending costs, such as child support, car insurance, traffic citations, etc.
  • Pay any required drivers license reinstatement fees.

Note: To pay for reinstatement fees, you may have the option to complete your transaction by phone, via mail or online.

Once the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles determines that you are eligible to gain your driving privileges back, you will receive a notice about your reinstatement requirements. If you have already fulfilled this suspension period and have not gotten a notice in the mail, simply fill out a Reinstatement Fee Submission form, which can be downloaded from the IN BVM website. Note that you cannot submit cash with this form.

Proof of Financial Responsibility and SR22 Insurance

In certain cases, the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles will require you to submit proof of financial responsibility from your insurance carrier. By law, drivers in the state must have these types of minimum car insurance coverage:

  • $25,000 coverage in the event of an accident death
  • $50,000 coverage in an accident death of two or more people
  • $10,000 coverage for property damage as the result of an accident

Drivers license holders who are facing a driving suspension as the result of certain convictions may be required to hold SR22 insurance. If you do not submit a SR22 form through your insurance company, you will not be able to reinstate suspended driving licenses. This specific form confirms that you have the state’s minimum insurance coverage. Individuals with a suspended license must carry SR22 insurance in Indiana for a period of three years upon first driver suspension.

Indiana-Services.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.